Gobsmacked by LB Gregg

lb_gobsmacked_500x75021No more Mr. Nice Guy.
Mild mannered Mark Meehan’s good judgment flies out the window when he finds his lover banging another man. Things go from bad to worse as Mark’s crazy revenge scheme uncovers shocking secrets-sending him straight into the arms of hunky lawman and old friend, Tony Gervase, a man of limited patience and secrets of his own.
From Aspen Mountain Press.

I liked Mark. In fact no, I more than liked Mark I just adored this character. He was smart and sexy, but most appealing was his very human and real nature; which is what made this book so charming. Tony was a sex god of course with his whole tall, dark and chest hair going on, but it was wanting to see what Mark would do next that kept me up till way past my bedtime.

The writing was crisp with some beautiful use of language, without it looking like the author had fallen into a thesaurus. I liked this. Sometimes it’s nice if an author feels you’re intelligent enough to cope with the big words. heh. The pace of the story was quite fast, not short, just quick with no down time. This made for real edge of your seat reading. I was just dying to know what happened next and it felt like no words were wasted. The humor was also a nice suprise, although I did not spend the whole story laughing my ass off it was enough that my partner asked me what I was reading several times… which eventually turned into, ‘are you still reading that book?’

And hot. Holy shit, I do try and suppress my prurient side and not focus solely on this, it is a romantic story after all not Hot Cops (which does look rather interesting…) so there is loads of lovely sweet stuff, but this was just so good – or maybe I just have a thing for bathroom sex! heh.

I can honestly say I did not know quite what to expect going into reading this book, especially after reading the synopsis where I wondered if the crazy revenge theme was really going to be my cup of tea. But it was a great read, seriously! Memorable and one I cannot wait to see in paperback.

You can purchase here at Aspen Mountain Press and in March in paperback at MLRP.

16 thoughts on “Gobsmacked by LB Gregg

Add yours

  1. Hi Sarah
    The “hot cops” and “hot bathroom sex” parts catched my interest. *g*

    Seems to be an interesting book, nice review. 🙂

    Have a nice remaining Sunday!

    Christian

  2. Thanks Christian. They rather caught my interest. hehe. I have been eyeing that anthology for a while now. I think it’s the hat! You have a lovely Sunday too. 😀

  3. I was looking at this book yesterday and decided to pass, because I’m been burnt by so many new-to-me authors in the last month. Think I’ll go back and buy it now. Thanks for the rec. 🙂

  4. Sarah-
    Thank you so much for pimping my Gob! I’m still in SO. Cal. and away from my computer….am typing with my thumbs, heh.Most difficult.

    I’m glad you enjoyed Mark & Tony!

    lb

  5. Hey Amanda, I know what you mean!! Have had a few recently that I have not even finished. gah. But, this one I liked, it was funny, sweet and sexy.

    Katie, maybe? heh. Russell already has so much hair he does not need a scarf I think. Hairy wee beast that he is!

    Hey LB, hope you’re having a good time and I did enjoy them loads. 🙂

  6. I read this Friday night and liked it too. I think fans of Josh Lanyon and similar authors will absolutely love it. The writing style reminded me a lot of Josh’s work. 🙂

    Great review, Sarah! Great book, LBG. 🙂

  7. “The humor was also a nice suprise”

    Really? You were surprised that LB incorporated humor into her story? Frankly, I would have been surprised and disappointed if she HADN’T given her characters a sense of humor. What a waste of a twisted mind THAT would have been. ;-p

  8. Jen B~

    Thanks so much. I’ll take that as the highest praise. 🙂

    Kris~I’m so glad you enjoyed it. ::phew::

    BevQB~Twisted? Why…yes, yes I am. Mwah.

  9. Hey Jen, I think it has that tightness about it that Lanyons work does. I read so late!!

    Hey Kris, both so NICE! Likeable characters always a bonus. hehe.

    Bev, I think the bloke got sick of me sniggering away. 😉

  10. Oh I loved this book. I loved the characters and of course the humor – which I expected. You’re right the sex was HOT. Loved that bathroom scene – whew baby!

    I loved the way Mark would bag on Kev’s outfits – too funny!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑