Two Man Station by Lisa Henry

I absolutely loved the start of Emergency Services series by Lisa Henry and I am super eager to read more.

The setting for Two Man Station felt like a character itself and I loved the small town vibe and isolated feel of the novel. The heat, dust and cicadas were vivid. Gio was such a great character. He’s so over everything and has barriers up before he’s even started his new job in the middle of nowhere. His past has been turbulent and heart breaking, so I think Jason’s attitude initially surprises him as he’s expecting a more aggressive welcome to his new position.

The tension between the two is built beautifully and I think if you’re a fan of the slow build, as I am, you’re in for a treat. I did expect a few more fireworks and passion, but I think as I re read this that Gio in particular is so worried about being hurt, so maybe there are are more emotional obstacles to overcome.

I loved the secondary characters, Jason’s son in particular, the small town dramas and insight into a rural cops life were also super engaging to read. I loved this book and I cannot wait to read more in the series. Hoping I won’t have to wait an age!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑