Interview – LB Gregg

yukon_man1It is my pleasure to share an interview with you from author LB Gregg.
Clever, funny and a smarty after my own heart, this talented new author has the first Men of Smithfield book coming soon in ebook from Aspen Mountain Press and in March the paperback version with MLRP.
The MLRP series is called Smart Ass, the first is Close Quarters. The Men of Smithfield stories will be paired with Amber Green’s new series Turner & Turner.

I know you think this is an ass question, but would you care to share a few things about yourself? Favorite shoes, neck tie, body piercing… cake?

Favorite shoes? Black leather driving mocs. Worn to perfection (meaning I need to toss them) and comfortable in any weather. Also my black and orange ski boots.

Neckties? Surely you jest.

My favorite body piercing on someone else is a small gauge. Emphasis on small. I admit to an unnatural interest in the Prince Albert, but this is purely academic.

Cake? That’s one of my favorite bands!

beagle-trainingBeagles. Possibly the best dog IN the world? Your thoughts on this noble beast?

My dog ate a grease stick. MMmmmm….grease stick. It never ceases to amaze me what a beagle is willing to ingest. Chapstick, fruit snacks, a jar of peanut butter, a roll of paper towels, a bag of grapes, heck, they’ll lick chicken feed off the ground. I mean the list is as endless as it is impressive.

There is no sweeter dog, though.

What made you start writing?

I was strong armed into this, no question. I always wanted to write but I lacked the discipline. It was through the encouragement, and the daily, er, support of my blogging friends, and my writer pal, that I was able to get these novellas written. Those folks really kicked me (read: my ass) into gear. Also, M/M is the genre where I found both my voice and the stories I wanted to tell.

lb_gobsmacked_500x75021I think your books are fresh, funny and totally sexy, but what do you think sets them apart?

Thanks, Sarah. That’s so nice to hear. My stories are pretty short and the pace is fast, but it’s the setting that I think is atypical. New England. People say, write what you know. So I did. The folks here are practical, no-nonsense, and bit tricky to get to know. Each season brings a brand new set of expectations for our lives, from the kinds of weather we experience, to the clothes we wear, to our leisure activities, to the coffee we drink (iced or hot?). I’m sure that’s true elsewhere, but my experience has been predominantly here. I’m keen on it.

Where would you like to see the m/m medium go in the next few years?

I’d like to see m/m lose it’s ‘kink’ appeal and get into the broader market, for the genre to gain credibility and garner respect. Imagine a harlequin line of category glbt novels!

What do you think has been your most important piece of work to date and why?

Ha. Well I only have the one book out so I’ll say…that one! Gobsmacked. It’s important to me on many of levels. It’s my first book, my first time writing, and the fact that my friends and family supported my writing endears it to me. Please buy my book. heh.

The next book in the Men of Smithfield series, Happy Ending, is close to my heart.

I wanted to write a story that presented a positive family dynamic with a gay parent, but that’s not the focus of the book. Happy Ending is a love story. Seth and David are one lively pairing, phewie. I never knew what that David was going to do next or how Seth was going to react.

60382763What sort of characters are you drawn to writing about?

I ‘m drawn to everyday men who find themselves out of their comfort zones, who have to make decisions on the fly, and who wind up having the rug pulled out from under them by some inappropriate guy. In Gobsmacked, Marks entire life unravels in a series of fast, unexpected events and he’s scrambling to make sense of things…so Tony makes his move. I do like that Tony. Tony likes to take charge, and Mark is out of control. Gob is an old friends, alpha/beta, cop story. Tres. Hot.

In Happy Ending, the next in my Men of Smithfield series, the no-nonsense and stern Seth Weston meets his unlikely match in the funny, daring, and laid back David Cooke. It’s a fun story and, I have to admit, it’s a bit spicy.

How hard is it to write scenes with the smex? Making it hot and sexy without it coming off as cheesetastic?

It’s tough. I rewrite love scenes constantly trying to get them just so and …. I’m never satisfied. I’m working on the edits for the print version of Gobsmacked and I’m still tweaking. The Aspen e-book will be slightly different than the print. It’ll be interesting to see what readers think.

starving-writerAny suggestions for wannabe authors hoping to get published?

Well, this ain’t no War and Peace (thank god) but to get published in this genre, you have to write write write. Set daily goals and meet them, and when you don’t, cut yourself slack because tomorrow is a brand new day with no mistakes in it. Find someone you trust to read for you and ask for specific feed back. Never ever be afraid to toss stuff and rework it. That’s not failure; that’s the process. That sounds bossy, but the truth is, the books we read aren’t written on the first go, or the tenth, they are the culmination of a lot of work, rereads, and rewrites. And as a pal said to me last night, Books are built one word at a time.”

You’re a bit of a reader geek when you’re not writing. Are there any romance authors you’re particularly addicted to?

Well, Josh Lanyon, of course. He’s the king. I enjoy JL Langley very much. Victor Banis. Outside of m/m, I have some old favorites in the romance world, Lisa Kleypas, Suzanne Brockmann, Christina Dodd, Teresa Medeiros, and Joanna Lindsay and, well she’s not really romance, but I adore Charlaine Harris. My new favorite? The ever clever Meljean Brook. She’s fantastic. Oh and Kresley Cole. I’ll stop here because I could go on all day.

stevemcqueenAre there any story lines that suck you in as a reader more than others? Cops, desert island or perhaps intrepid book sellers?

I’m partial to intrepid book sellers, this is true. I also love tough navy seals, hard-nosed and closeted cops, and certain stern starship commanders…I like those big alphas…and I like them best when they are paired with a smart ass beta who keeps them on their toes. That contrast is delicious.

What are you working on currently?

I’m working on a story called Shelter, at least that’s what it’s called today. It’s not a Men of Smithfield story, but it is m/m and it’s one of my favorite romantic contrasts… May/December. Yum.

I have the rough of Men of Smithfield III waiting on my hard drive. It’s being…persnickety. I should finish that by the end of February.

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer all my questions. ALL of them! heh. I really do appreciate it and it’s been super cool. Mwah!!

Thanks Sarah! Mwah back atcha!

picture-2As a special treat I am going to offer a free ebook copy of Gobsmacked to a lucky poster, just leave a comment saying hi and I’ll make a draw later next week.

postcard_myspace_jpegIn the meantime check out LB Gregg’s website here and the link to MLRP. The Smithfield Gazette is also a very worthy publication to sign up for and you can check it out here.

Artwork at the top of page is from Mikemen.

38 thoughts on “Interview – LB Gregg

Add yours

  1. Great interview ladies, and big congrats to LB on her first release.

    So looking forward to reading ‘Gobsmacked’.

    “Imagine a harlequin line of category glbt novels!”

    I’d like to see that. *g*

  2. Nice interview. I particularly liked what you said about New England and having your story set there. I think its unique energy and atmosphere would make for an interesting backdrop for a story, especially when the characters are cops.

    Also, I like that you like to have your characters out of their comfort zone. This book looks so interesting. Congrats on it and the next few in the series! I’m looking forward to reading them. 😀

  3. Kris~Would that not be the best thing? They could have those wickedly wonderful names: The Greek Billionaire’s Secret Leather Clad Bear Daddy.

    No?

  4. KBabs~It’s always hard.

    I don’t know how far I’d go. It would depend on the character dynamic. Mark and Tony don’t rely on a whole lot of tricks and knick knacks to get off, but it is spicy. This pairing is really about discovering their attraction and Tony’s…control. As Sarah likes to say, Merow.

  5. MB(Leah)~ Thanks so much! I hope everyone enjoys them (obviously) and the support from my blogging friends has been terrific. Now if only it were ACTUALLY available today. I’m trying to clear that up right now.

    🙂

  6. Good stuff. 🙂

    I wish m/m presses would release books in mass market. I hate that blasted trade paper. Grrrrr.

    Okay, Aspen needs to get their act together. Book is still not up. Make them hurry!

  7. I can’t wait to read Gobsmacked! I keep checking AMP web site, hopefully it will be up soon. I’m really looking foward to the Men of Smithfield series 🙂 I’ve enjoyed the excerpts so much, I just know I am going to love it. AMP hurry up!!!! Please.

    PS Don’t enter me in the drawing, I can’t wait that long 🙂 I’ll be getting it as soon as it’s up for sale!

  8. JenB~I’m hyperventilating into this here paper bag because the book isn’t up on the website. ::huffhuffhuff:: Today IS the release date I was given. Hopefully it’ll be up soon.

    Thanks so much for being supportive, Jen. Means a lot to me.

  9. Robin J~Thanks so much for your enthusiasm. I’m working on getting things straightened out right now.

    There are, to date, three Men of Smithfield books completed and a fourth slated to be written this summer, god willing and the creek don’t rise. Amber and I are VERY excited about this “Smart Ass” pairing over at MLRP. A more fitting name, I cannot imagine.

  10. The Greek Billionaire’s Secret Leather Clad Bear Daddy.

    LOL – OMG can you imagine? How awesome!

    Great interview LB and Sarah! I can’t wait to read the book…eventually. LB I’m thrilled that you were strong-armed. 🙂

  11. Can’t wait. Going over there ASAP and picking it up. I just got up over here on the West Coast, so maybe it’s there! Great cover! You GO! I’ll be buying this so no need to enter me into a drawing unless you want to gift it to orphans or deployed servicemen or servicewomen or something…
    ~Z~

  12. Z~Later we can have that discussion about the underwear hanging out on the line for all the world to see. Thanks fellow MLRP/AMP author! (And angel…::flip::)

  13. Hey Kris, I’d like to see that too! Hows things over your way? Hot?

    Katie, you’re such a grub after my own heart. heh.

    Leah, after watching a program on New England last night I cannot wait to read more. It is beautiful. It is often difficult to know about specific areas of the US as most of what we see overseas is LA.

    Hey Robin, I keep hitting the refresh too!!

    Tracy, I want that book. hehe.

    ZA, kept wondering why it was not refreshing and realized I was looking at it in the middle of your guys night. heh.

    Hey Amber, g rated???? A challenge indeed.

  14. Sarah~What program did you watch? Was it travel? Historical? Lots to see and do in my neck of the woods and NYC is a hop, skip and a jump away. Good morning, btw. I”m in a time warp in CA.

  15. It was a travel program called Stephen Fry in America. He was just gorgeous. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ReCp51RTaUo

    The area was just stunning and I want to go there NOW… may have to start pimping man out to earn more cash to travel. After home decorating I need a bigger travel budget. I am sure to get millions for his tall, blond behind. heh.

  16. Wow, I can’t wait to reeeeeaaaaaaaaaaad! No need to enter me into the drawing as I already bought it. Gotta support authors I want to stick around! 😉

    Seriously though, I’m excited and can’t wait to read this one tomorrow night. Erm, after I finish my blog post of course. *g*

  17. Sarah,

    Hi, Long time for me long post (I have been lurking from time to time ;-D) Congrats to LB! This sounds like a fabulous read. Congrats to you and much success!

  18. Hey Ozakie, how are you sweetie! I have been a pretty slack blogger to be honest. Long holiday and it’s summer here. The book is wicked cool!

  19. You sure you haven’t been writing under another name for years? Cuz your answers sound like they came from a seasoned veteran.

    BTW, don’t enter me in the drawing because I intend to buy Gobsmacked on my own.

    “in March the paperback version with MLRP.
    The MLRP series is called Smart Ass, the first is Close Quarters. The Men of Smithfield stories will be paired with Amber Green’s new series Turner & Turner.”

    I R confoozled.

  20. It is kind of like an anthology I think. 2 books in one. The series will be called Smart Ass. Each book in the series of Smart Ass will have a different name – the 1st being Close Quarters.

  21. Back from California. Thanks everyone. Laura I’m DE-LIGHTED to be part of MLRP. Thanks so much for having me.

    Bev: Amber has a brand new series called Turner and Turner. I have the Men of Smithfield. Combined we will have a series called Smart Ass. So the first installment Smart Ass: Close Quarters will feature Gobsmacked and One Good Turn. Phewie. It’s out in March. Do buy it. 🙂

    Ozakie~Thanks!! I’m a bit excited. Also I’m a smidge nervous.

    Dakota~Thanks for holding down the fort. I’m about to check it out. See if the digs are still standing. *g*

  22. “It’s out in March. Do buy it.”

    That works out even better! I dread reading ebooks any more because of eye strain from my PDA and computer screens, so I’ll just wait and buy the print unless you have some secret author type reason why I should buy the ebook instead?.

    I’m thinkin’ it’s safe to assume that SOMEONE *ahem* will let everyone know when the print book is available.

  23. OK, so Gobsmacked goes on the to be bought list. And even if I win the drawing, I will still buy a copy. *g* Got to support my m/m authors, so I can continue to have excellent books to read. *lol*

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑