2011 Top Reads.

Books and reading have been a godsend this year, and while I’ve probably read less GLBT romance this year, I’ve picked up a few more urban fantasy and paranormal novels.

I did get a LOT of books I just couldn’t finish, and it wasn’t just bad editing. It just seemed as though these books needed more polishing and depth. Nothing worse than a book you cannot get into, rubbish storytelling and a novel that feels underdone.

But, there were loads that were just brilliant and below are my top reads for the year.

Marine Biology by Gail Carriger was a cute, short read about a werewolf and merman. Her Parasol Protectorate series is amazing and her first foray into gay, paranormal writing makes me hope she writes more in this genre. Get it at Smashwords for .99c.

Harper Fox has been a little hit and miss for me, but I thoroughly enjoyed The Salisbury Key. It was just a little different and the writing was pretty gripping. $6.50 at Samhain.

Room at the Top by Jane Davitt and Alexa Snow was a smutty piece of goodness that I thoroughly enjoyed at the end of winter. Plenty of sexy, spanky threesome goodness and I am a huge fan of work that these two produce. $7.99 at Loose Id.

I liked Basic Training by Marquesate quite a lot. There were parts I felt that needed to be a little tighter and near the end there was a couple of cheesy bits. But, it was cool, sexy and I love the almost military procedural tone of the text. Very entertaining. $7.99 from MLR Press.

I always enjoy James Buchanan’s writing, and it was brilliant to read another Deputy Joe novel this year. Spin Out was great. Sexy, hot and emotional reading. $8.99 from MLR Press.

Hot Head by Damon Suede was super entertaining and while I thought it needed some tightening up editing wise, it was a cool read that I’ve re read twice now. Maybe it was the fireman sex? heh. $5.59 at Dreamspinner Press.

The Locker Room by Amy Lane had some uber angst going on, more than I usually enjoy! But I have a total jones for sport romance and this was a delight to read. $6.99 at Dreamspinner Press.

Bad Company by KA Mitchell, was kinda gay for you and kinda not. Hard to explain… I love this authors writing. Solid story telling that’s emotional and packs a punch. I have all her books in paper back, one of the few! She is made of awesome. $4.50 at Samhain.

My absolute favorite book from this year and 5 plus star read has to be Bad Boyfriend by KA Mitchell. I just finished this fab book and it was just magic. Not only was the storytelling brilliant, but it’s probably one of the hottest books that I’ve read in an age. Eli’s mouth alone is a reason for reading this! Highly recommended! $3.15 at Samhain.

Feel free to mention your top reads in the comments section!

Eli and his mouth???? Nom.

8 thoughts on “2011 Top Reads.

Add yours

  1. Yeah. Books pretty much saved my sanity this year as well.
    Agree with most of your top GLBT reads (you pretty much got me hooked a few years back so I guess our tastes are similar) with Damon Suede’s Hot Head right there at the top. Loved Eli too!! I’m a bit leery of Amy Lane (Keeping Promise Rock was over-angsty even for me) but I might give that one a try.
    I also adored Bear, Otter and the Kid by TJ Klune, Song of Oestend by Marie Sexton, Anchored by Rachel Haimowitz, Out of the Woods by Sid McGinley and Marathon Cowboys by Sarah Black. Oh, and Damon Suede’s little novella, Grown Men was pretty awesome too.
    Oh. And the pic? Yum.

  2. This year has been horrid. Professionally great, personally bloody awful. Lucky to have a wonderful partner. 🙂

    The Amy Lane suprized me, I’ve not enjoyed her other work as much. But this one was good. I’ve not tried Anchored by Rachel Haimowitz, but will have a nosey at it and some of the others. Always up for a good read, and looking forward to a holiday break. Nose will be in book!

  3. I read quite a few this year that I didn’t like. Some good ones that made my must read for 2011 are, Scorpion by Aleksandr Voinov, 18% Gray by Anne Tenino, Come onto these yellow Sands by Josh Lanyon, Dirty Kiss by Rhys Ford and Usual Apocalypse by Christine Price.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

