Shorts.

I’ve not written anything in so long. Eak! I think  the pressure of work has finally cut into the review writing part of my brain. All I want to do is come home and be a veggie. In the past week though, with the sun finally making an appearance, I’ve felt a like I have a little perkier apart from one incident of ginger rage.

My reading material has varied a little over the past few weeks and I’ve even read a few het romance novels. Yeesh.

I could not get through a whole chapter of Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost. Bleh. I also tried Patience by Lisa Valdez. Good grief. It was different from the 1st book which was nice and pervy with loads of sexy times in the open, and in the odd museum. And he had a gihungous cock. It was great! This second novel feels really disjointed and like it does not know what it wants to be and to be honest I was not really sure about the bdsm elements; the main character also refers to his balls as cods. I just keep thinking of fish every time I see the word and get a little giggly, not sure that was the reaction the author was after. I’m afraid it’s just not doing it for me.

One series that does please me immeasurably are the Parasol Protectorate books by Gail Carriger. It is a steam punk, paranormal series with werewolves, alternate history and dirigibles. It is marvellously entertaining and has a heroine that doesn’t make me want to commit book homicide. Definitely worth reading and you can pick them up for next to nothing at the Book Depository.

Finder Volume1: Target in the View Finder by Ayano Yamane was seriously good. It is hugely pervy with material that won’t appeal to everyone. The story is about a photographer, Takaba, who is trying to catch the bad guys doing bad stuff. Unfortunately he runs into Asami who doesn’t appreciate his illicit activities being documented and takes Takaba captive. There is a bit of non con and bdsm stuff for those who are a little squicked by that, I loved it however and the artwork is just sublime.  There are also several stories about other couples in the book, which for the most part are pretty entertaining, and I cannot wait to see the next volume. I’ve kinda killed my credit card at the moment though! I ordered through Akadot, who were very fast postage wise, but perhaps not as cheap as somewhere like the Book Depository.

I re-read Hell by Jet Mykles. This is honestly one of my favourite series of books. I have them all in ebook and in paperback all with gorgeous illustrations by PL Nunn. Hell is a keyboard player who joins the band on their latest album. Brent, the base player, is attracted to the purple haired imp but is filled with self doubt and doesn’t want to take the risk of being hurt. Much misunderstanding ensues. I love how Hell is portrayed, all purple haired and feisty, and how his German accent makes an appearance during sex along with his big cock. (I’m sensing a theme this week O-o). This was a beautifully crafted story and highly entertaining. I’ve read it several times now and it has to be one of my favourite reads. Book Depository has it, cheap as chips!

8 thoughts on “Shorts.

Add yours

  1. I really need to try that Protectorate series. It’s on my list! One of these days I’ll have time to read for fun. *sigh*

    SO JEALOUS that you have one of the View Finder books.

    1. The Protectorate series is awesome and she’s a heroine that I thoroughly enjoyed.

      View Finder was gorgeous. I also grabbed The Prime Minister’s Secret Diplomacy, awesome!

  2. Oh I hate it when books suck. And of course when you’re laughing at them when you’re not supposed to? That’s not good. lol

    I want to read the Finder series so bad! If I could find one that was less expensive I would but they all want my first born and a limb just to buy it! lol

    1. Glad I didn’t mention the last Rachel Gibson I read. Awful!!! TSTL heroine with no moxie. Bleh!

      I think the book depository will be the best place to get Finder. It’s loads cheaper.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. You bought stock in the Emerald city (aka Bookdepository. Kris calls it like that) Sarah? 🙂
    I liked Hells story best too but certainly not no 2. When I reread the series I skip that one.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

