Shorts.

I have written a whole 3 short book reviews. Success!

Infected: Prey by Andrea Speed has been a great book, so far. I’ve actually just finished the 1st book, there are two that make up the novel. I liked it so much that I’ll give it a gold star just on part one alone. The story telling was excellent with a nice scooby mystery, and the romance between Roan and Paris very much underpinning it rather than being sole focus. What surprised me I guess is the lack of sex in the book. Sex is usually pretty high on my list of must haves and yet the story itself was so compelling that the lack of sexfest became less important than the characters development and the mystery. This is not to say that there is no tension between them, just that the bedroom door is firmly closed to pervs like me. Great paranormal, urban fantasy werecat story . Well worth purchasing. Check it out here.

Stray by Ash Penn was a bit of a hesitant purchase for me. I was not sure I would like it going on the blurb (guy is slutty, likes his roommate and ends up screwing his loves lover) But I brought it anyway, because I liked the cover. God, I am truly hopeless. The book is set in England and I think this is what I found the most charming about the story. It has a certain Bristishness about it. The characters, the way they interact and their speech just totally appealed. The sex was pretty grubby and the characters were just so damn likeable. I think I’ve been watching too many episodes of Skins and have certainly read waaaay to many Jilly Cooper novels over the years to not find this novel utterly charming in a kind of over the top way. There were a few bits that felt less than well paced and maybe the characters did stuff that was a little wanky but over all it was a totally cool read. More please authors from Britain!!!!! Buy here.

I Fell In Love With A Zombie by Sean Kennedy was cool. I think I brought this mainly to see how in gods name he’d make a Zombie into a sexorin fest… without appendages falling off during important, intimate moments. This was a totally cool read and I cannot believe he made a zombie seem sexy. I mean, ewww! The story was nicely paced with loads of great world building and plenty of scope to maybe write more. Zombies, true love and an apocalyptic world. Get it here from DSP.

13 thoughts on “Shorts.

Add yours

  1. I have the first one waiting for me. Glad to hear it’s worthwhile.

    The second one didn’t appeal to me much but we’ll see since you give it such high marks.

    I enjoyed Sean’s interpretation of zombies very much as well.

  2. Infected was definitely a different, less sexyish read. But, great story telling. Reminded more of reading something like Charlaine Harris, more focus on plot than couple.

    Not sure everyone will like Stray, I did though. It was cute and just a little OTT. Must has suspension of disbelief pants on though!!

    Zombies, who knew they could be sexy.
    I still cannot believe I’m saying that. heh.

  3. It’s cool and I haven’t even read the 2nd book. But, I liked it much. Seamless storytelling.

    I did like Seans story much. He’s a clever clogs. πŸ˜€

  4. Hi Sarah, just wanted to say thanks very much on the book review and I’m glad you enjoyed the story. Yes, I agree the book can be a little OTT at times. When the character of Terry first came to me he was determined to rebel against the usual β€˜nice guy β€˜ narrator image so common in m/m romance. He’s an anti hero, and a bit of a git, but I loved writing him anyway πŸ˜€

  5. Absolutely!! I think often you get characters that are just too saccharine to be comfortable, I think that’s why Terry was so entertaining.

  6. The first one appeals to me although sex is usually pretty high on my list too πŸ˜‰
    The second one’s cover is pretty, and I’ve been eying it over at Loose Id’s just a few minutes ago.
    Sean’s story was good but I didn’t want it to end there. I’m hoping for a sequel!

  7. The first two are on my buy list. They sound good although both seem different from the norm. Which is not a bad thing at all.

    I loved Sean’s Zombie book although like Chris I wanted more.

  8. You know, part of me feels terrible that people might expect hot sex in Infected. There just isn’t any. *sigh*

    But I’m glad you enjoyed the story! That was really the main focus for me when I originally wrote it. It’s actually a sort of weird superhero/action hero homage, just with a gay lead. But I promise to try and work in hot sex in later stories. πŸ™‚

    1. Don’t feel terrible, please! It was such a great read. Loads of my reads do contain much smoochery though, so Infected is just something a little different from my standard fare, which is why I mentioned it.

      It was a cool read. More please πŸ˜€

    2. I’d just like to say that I’m half way done with the second part of Infected and the lack of sex scenes is not a bad thing. Your characters and story are so well developed that it doesn’t matter about the sex.

      Personally I’d take good story and character development over sex scenes any day. Your writing stands on its own without them.

      So please don’t feel you need to change your writing style based on what readers expect from a typical shifter, m/m, or whatever type of story.

      To me Infected reads more like an urban-dark-fantasy-mystery where the lead happens to be gay. And in my opinion Infected is better written than some of the other urban fantasies I’ve read that have been published by bigger publishers. So don’t feel bad about the lack of sex! It works without it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

