Shorts.

Some quick reviews, cause I’m too lazy and hot (yes the sun is actually out) to write anything longer!

Can’t Hurry Love by M. Jules Aedin was damn fun. Vincent is in trouble at the Easter Bunny Department and gets shunted off to work with a grumpy cupid as punishment. Cuteness ensues. Despite being quite short this was super entertaining and I enjoyed the authors style, quick pace and the romance was just gorgeous. I liked it much; really it gets loads of stars cause one of the main characters has bunny ears and a tail. How cute is that? Check it out at ARe.

Bee Among the Clover by Marguerite Labbe and Fae Sutherland was an interesting read. Set in England when the Romans were still hanging out in London, this was a historical romance between a captured slave and an indentured thrall. The book was rather long with much smex amongst the animal skins and the odd menage with the head honcho. This last element did not get in the way of the romance between our two star crossed lovers, but made the book more feel a little more well rounded and kinda grubby! The 1st half of the book had great pace, but I did find my feet dragging in the 2nd half. There were a great deal of misunderstandings, which is a trope that I can usually cope with in very small doses. Unfortunately, this element made the story too drawn out and I did find my attention wandering at times. It was a little disapointing after such a good 1st half. For all that it was a reasonably good read and one to check out.

Coming Home by Ava Rose Johnson is a cowboy romance and well worth a look. Cade has had the hots for Brett for ages, but it is not until he has to come home to sort the family ranch that their attraction develops into more. The world building was tight and ranchy with good pacing and I liked the boys. This was not just a straight up m/m romance, there is some ménage-à-trois action with a girl no less!  It worked though, which was good because I’ve read another book with the same kind of feel and the chick just felt like a 3rd wheel. I found this to be a pretty entertaining read and think it is definitely one to have a nosey at.

Special Delivery by Heidi Cullinan was a cool book. Sam, a young nursing student hooks up with a trucker Mitch and they road trip and find themselves. It was great. While at times I did find the narrative a little patchy and some of Sam’s internal dialog a little repetitive (I’m sooooooo slutty), this was a fantastically grubby read to just check your suspension of disbelief at the door and totally get into. What I found so entertaining was the authors give it a go voice and while there are definitely parts that had me a little WTF?? It was genuinely entertaining. Liked it. Check it out at ARe.

12 thoughts on “Shorts.

Add yours

    1. The Bee book was an interesting one. I did like that it was longer, bust unfortunately I did have a few issues with the 2nd half. There were also a couple of plot points that had me a little O-o, so if you do read it let me know what you think. 🙂

  1. I haven’t read any of these yet but I’ve got Can’t Hurry Love and Special Delivery in my TBB. The other two just don’t grab me.

    1. I must say I think some of a quality of reads have improved from DSP, I’m getting more satisfactory reading from them. I think their editing is getting tighter and their quality of story is pretty good.

    1. I wish!! I’ve always wanted a graphic novel of My Fair Captain. I’d pay many pennies for that! Have you read Black Wade? Well worth a look.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

