Shorts.

I’ve been catching up on some of my paperback reading over the last couple of weeks. I brought several books ages ago and they’ve been languishing in a pile next to my bed. As much as I LOVE ebooks it’s been nice to read an actual paper book. I finally finished The Catch Trap and loved it, but will write something a little longer in the coming weeks. It deserves some pondering!

Y: The Last Man Vol. 1: Unmanned is seriously cool and I cannot wait to pick up the next volume. When all the men on the planet die mysteriously AND simultaneously, apart from Yorick and his monkey, adventure, mayhem and mystery ensue. The boy has read this and is a huge fan and I’m glad I picked it up, because I really enjoyed it much. Check out Y and a few other cool comics on this goodreads list.

A Feral Christmas (Lost Shifters, #2) was a cute and quick read. It reminded me loads of Tara Janzen’s books in that her secondary characters are what will keep you coming back for more. It was a little shorter than I would have liked and occasionally lacked a little depth, but was an entertaining read. I’ll definitely be going back for more as Rat’s story has to be a bit of a winner! Check it out here at ARe.

I’ll Be Your Drill, Soldier by Crystal Rose has been a difficult book to rate. The beginning was rather choppy, but once it got into the army basic training it smoothed out a little. It was a procedural kind of writing, but with enough crisp character detail and insight into army life that I found it incredibly readable. Even though there was not too much focus on the romance at this stage, it was rather engrossing. The build up to the smexorin was smokin and I’d read it again just for that! The author states that this is most definitely set in a fictional world with regards attitudes towards homosexuality in the army. I felt, in spite of this, that the world building was good enough for me to suspend my disbelief with reasonable ease. What stops this book from being a total 5 star read is the pacing, head hopping and the many occasions I just wished the editing was tighter. Large parts of the book suffered from this and despite moments of brilliance, I think this is either going to be a book you’ll love or find hard going. Check it out at Dark Roast Press.

Grave Secret is the 4th part of the Harper Connelly series. Really, Charlaine Harris can do no wrong in my books, but I must say this series and also her Lily Bard Mysteries are just a cut above. They’re deceptively simple, but with plenty of twists and turns to keep you going and female characters that I just love. Harper gets hit by lightning when she is younger and can see not only dead folks but the cause of their deaths. Her STEP brother travels with her helping folk out with the whole dead and dying thing and scoobyness ensues. It’s cool beans. AND can I just say, that he is not really her brother. They’re not blood relatives. So, no squick. HONEST! Wicked cool series. Check it out here.

14 thoughts on “Shorts.

Add yours

  1. They’re deceptively simple, but with plenty of twists and turns to keep you going and female characters that I just love.

    Absolutely. She’s amazing. I haven’t read this yet! Will order it with my CAROLYN CRANE book . And Tad Williams has a new one out Tuesday. Big reading month ahead. Time to flex my credit card.

    1. She’s crazy good. I luff her.

      I am going to see if I can get Carolyns book through the amazing Book Depository 😀 I luff them too. Books arrive fast and reasonably priced all the way from England into my mail box as if by magic.

    1. Definitely check out the Shakespeare series, it is seriously good and one of my favourite re reads. Lily Bard is a kick ass heroine with depth and moxie.

  2. I have the first book in that Stephani Hecht series on my reader… must get to it soon…

    Interesting – I’m actually reading a print book right now and wishing it was an ebook. 🙂

    1. Chris, I’ve not read print books in so long I think my eyes were a little sore afterwards!! heh. I love my bookshelves (such a nerd) so it has been nice to put some new books on there!

      Hey EH, if you get IBYDS let me know what you think when you’re done. 🙂

  3. Sarah, I was under the impression that the Harper Connelly and Lily Bard series are more YA. Granted, that was what I understood from the original blurbs before the series started, but ARE they more YA than adult UF?

    1. Honestly, more for adults. Most definitely. I think some of the mystery themes alone are more for adults, let alone the sexual content. I think teens might have a hard time relating to both Lily and Harper too.

    1. It is a little different from what I’ve been reading, but I liked it anyway! I also picked up The Scorpion on the weekend and I LOVED it. Super cool historical kinda comic with the main character running round in thigh high boots! Only have volume one though, need more money for books I think!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

