Shades of Grey by Brooke McKinley

Miller Sutton, a by-the-book FBI agent, is starting to see some troubling shades of gray in his black-and-white world. He comes face-to-face with his doubts in the person of Danny Butler, a mid-level drug runner Miller hopes to use to catch a much larger fish: Roberto Hinestroza, a drug lord Miller has pursued for years.

Danny has no interest in being a witness against his boss, both out of a sense of twisted loyalty and because he knows double-crossing Hinestroza is a sure death sentence. But he reluctantly agrees to cooperate, and as he suspects, it doesn’t take long for Hinestroza to figure out the betrayal…. read more via Goodreads.

To be honest, going into Shades of Gray I was not sure how one could make a criminal a sympathetic character and I wasn’t convinced I’d enjoy reading it. But I kept seeing it on ARe and I obviously have no will power when it comes to purchasing books! Twist my arm much?

Danny is the type of flawed character I could really get into. He is ballsy, strong and just deals with what life dishes out. He’s not whiney and does not lay about on his fainting couch doing the whole oh, woe thing. Yay you, Danny! He was cool. Miller however was paddling his canoe up de-nial and had that whole stoic, buttoned up thing going on. Kinda like that type of character too, as he was so in need of someone to ruffle his feathers a little.

The world building was really tight and seamless, it felt realistic and gritty without being over the top. I do have a bit of a penchant for cop and crime drama and I think the author really nailed the scene. The sex was tasteful, but not overly grubby. It fit the tone of the story though and the tension was totally hot.

Without giving too much away, the end did get a little emotional, but not nauseatingly so. I liked how it was wrapped up too and this has to be one of the better HEA I’ve read in a while. Nicely done.

Shades of Grey is definitely deserving of all those stars I keep seeing on goodreads. It was an entertaining, angst filled read with distinctive characters. Please write faster Brooke McKinley.

Check it out at ARe and Fictionwise.

14 thoughts on “Shades of Grey by Brooke McKinley

Add yours

    1. Cheers!! It was a cool read and came at a time when I was in a bit of a meh reading slump. Always nice to read good books when this happens!! Love to know what you think when you’re done reading. 🙂

  1. I read this recently, too, and loved it. I keep saying it’s a ‘meaty’ book (no pun intended) and yet it had all the elements I love about m/m romance. It never had a false moment, either in the setting, plot or relationship!

  2. I just read it last week and I had heard great things. It really did live up to it’s rep with my only niggle being some of the flashbacks could have been zapped with no harm done but on the whole a great read. I liked the way it ended too.

    1. Hey Tam, I didn’t mind the flashbacks too much. But maybe a few less would have made it a little tighter? Dunno. I did love the ending, thought it was cool beans.

  3. Great review, Sarah! But … Jamie? You mean, Danny? You said: “He is ballsy, strong and just deals with what life dishes out. He’s not whiney and does not lay about on his fainting couch doing the whole oh, woe thing.” Very good point! I forgot to mention this in my own review. He’s very pragmatic and even humorous about just taking complications in stride. I really liked that. There can definitely be too much whining in m/m fiction!

    1. God, I am such a asshat. I fixed it. I even wrote Jamie down in my review diary as I was reading. O-o Not sure where Jamie came from… hehe.

      Yay for pragmatism. Totally not keen on whinging and chest beating.

  4. You’re not an asshat, ha, ha! I mix up character names all the time. Even author names, I’m afraid, though at least it doesn’t happen all that often with the author names. I mean, talk about embarrassing!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

