Shorts.

TonyBuffsQuickArmBind
Ganked from I am Fivestar

I’ve been on a bit of a BDSM binge over the past few weeks and can honestly say that a good BDSM novel that doesn’t devolve into the ridiculous and have me rolling my eyes is hard to find. It is possible that I am being picky, but a lot of them lack the power, intensity and feeling of well written kink. It is not enough to just use the words of the scene and hope for the best, there needs to be a connection between the characters. There should be trust, words, tone, tension and knowing someone with incredible intimacy.

Here are a few I’ve read recently and do let me know if you’ve any suggestions, because Mr Benson is still in the damn post. Hurmph.

JustFriends anne thomasJust Friends by Anne Thomas. The pacing was very quick and I felt that the dynamic between the two men could have been a little more fleshed out. It did have some nice moments, but seemed to miss the point a bit with regards the kink. Grant is heavily into the scene, as evidenced by his harness O-o and Eli wants Grant, but is not sure about the BDSM. Fair enough! I think if it was a little longer the switch at the end might have sat better. As it was this was an ok wee read and an author I’d like to check out again, but this one just missed the mark a bit for me. ebook available here.

my-fair-captain-jl-langleyMy Fair Captain by JL Langley. I re read all the good bits. One of the only books to fog my glasses EVERY DAMN TIME! …Dear Nate, please to be saving me from bad, bad books. Kisses, Sarah… For goodness sake, if you’ve not got it, get it. NOW.

deviations submissionDeviations: Submission by Chris Owen and Jodi Payne. This was an ok read. It meandered at times and about 1/2 way through I lost interest a little. But, persevered and finished it eventually! Loads of angst and trust issues and the whole letting yourself love again made for a reasonably satisfying read. While I’ll pick up the rest of the series, as I am interested in where they go next, I am a little unsure how much more there is to tell. You can get it in paperback and ebooks here.

natural lawNatural Law by Joey Hill. Did a re read of this gem. Total five star read and I can forgive some of the silliness at the end because she totally nails it in the rest of the book. Loved it, even if it does have girl cooties! Check out a more betterer review here.

geographyofmurderpabrownGeography of Murder by PA Brown. While I really enjoyed her LA Heat book, this one felt like it lacked focus and was a difficult read at times. A little choppy and am hoping this is a bit of a blip as I did so like her previous work. Get it here.

chains of love katrina straussChains of Love by Katrina Strauss. I like Blue. A lot! So forgive my total bias when it comes to this series. Even though I at times wanted to stuff his best friend out the door and get down to it with Blue and Derek! This is such a charming, sexy and cool series that never fails to push all the right buttons. Plus, those covers. omnomnom. Check it out here.

safterbdsmBDSM: Safer kinky sex. Best read of the week and FREE! When on the internets one does find the most fascinating stuff. I read this cover to cover and at no charge I reckon that’s a wicked good deal. Quick reading and loads of interesting advice and I’ve been seeing it promoted by some rather smart cookies. Check it out here and download the pdf at the bottom of the page.

11 thoughts on “Shorts.

Add yours

  1. I loved My Fair Captain. Nate definitely fogged my glasses 😉

    I really enjoyed the Deviations series although some books more than others. As for Blue Ruin, I’ve read the first one only, the other 2 are still in my TBR. I’ve got to read soon, I’ve heard good things about them.

    Thanks for the link to the BDSM manual. Very interesting.

    1. I feel rather more educated that I was before I read manual/flyer thing. O-o

      Blue is such a cool character and I like Katrina’s work much. She’s a bit of a clever pants. I’ll defnitely keep going with Deviations, sounds like it’s all good! 😀

  2. Hi, Sarah, good post! I’m not much of a fan of BDSM fiction also for those reasons you mentioned and also because the sex scenes often read as pompous and unspontaneous in this kind of fiction — BUT, I have read one or two I could recommend. Uneven by Anah Crow, Mastering Stefan by J.M. Snyder, Bound by Love by T.A. Chase, and Safe House by M. King. I’ve got reviews over at my blog for everything but Uneven and Safe House (got to get myself moving on those, ha, ha!).

    1. Eeek, sorry for the anonymous post above. That’s not really going to help if you’re wondering on whose blog the reviews are. This is Val from Obsidianbookshelf.com.

  3. I’m jotting madly — so many good recs! If I may add one of my own favorites, Syd McGinley’s Dr. Fell series gets it right emotionally, with a sprawling, absorbing plot and a varied & colorful cast of characters. The shorts are being released in two collected volumes
    . (I reviewed parts of the series a while back, here.)

    Cheers,
    Lee B.

      1. You’re definitely in plentiful company in your addiction! It’s not easy, finding new D/s or BDSM fiction that’s written intelligently and responsibly. I enjoyed Anne Thomas’ book, but can’t seem to find any other published m/m by her.

  4. Hi Sarah, yeah it seems like I’ve also been on a BDSM binge ever since I read the Deviation series. Here a couple that I like, Jane Davitt: Drawing Closer and Joey W. Hill: Rough Canvas. I did really like the Deviations series by Chris Owen and Jodi Payne (all 4 of them).
    By the way love your blog 🙂
    mrb

  5. oops #2 of my recommendation was suppose to be AM Riley: The Elegant Corpse, not Rough Canvas (that one is pretty good too, lots of angst though)

    1. Hey mrb , thanks for the recs! I have read one Jane Davitt called Wild Raspberries which I really liked, so will give Drawing Closer a look. Don’t mind a little angst so will check them all out. Thanks, you’re a sweetie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

