Chasing Smoke by K. A. Mitchell.

ka mitchell chasing smokeAn old mystery brought them together. Solving it could tear them apart.

In the best of times, Daniel Gardner hates visiting his family. With his boyfriend pressuring him for a mortgage-serious commitment, Christmas in Easton, PA sounds, for once, like a welcome escape. His old house holds more than memories of a miserable adolescence, though. It has Trey Eriksson.

At seventeen, Trey was taken in by the wealthy Gardner family after his father was jailed for his mother’s murder. Until he left for the Army, he fought a double-edged battle—for proof of his father’s innocence and against his attraction to Daniel.

Fifteen years later, things haven’t changed. Trey is still looking for the real killer. And Daniel has never forgotten how Trey used to sneak into his room at night.

Now new clues to the murder are resurfacing—and so is Trey and Daniel’s sexual chemistry. Except this time, Trey has come to terms with his orientation.

But their connection may not be enough to overcome the mistakes of the past. Not while a murderer still walks free…
From
Samhain Publishing.

It is no secret I am a bit of a fan girl for K.A. Mitchell and this new book was a gem.

The novel had a great hook with a return home, first love and a tightly scripted mystery that in no way detracted from the central theme of two men falling in love again. The novel has a slow, sexy burn to it and the tension between Daniel and Trey made my toes curl. The flashes back to when they’re younger feels a little illicit as you read about their burgeoning love, but it’s sensual and beautifully written and makes their interactions as adults that much more bittersweet and sexy. And hot, holy shit. O-o

I think what I enjoy most about K.A. Mitchells writing is that she understands the rhythm of a good book. Her pacing is excellent and there are no lulls where I feel inclined to ferret off to check my twitter account, or other assorted internet wankyness. I’m reading till some ridiculous hour and am still desperate to know what happens next, despite my tiredness. This is what a good book should be all about. That and making me laugh out loud at lines like …Ghosts of Erections Past… Imagery? hehe. 🙂 Loved it!

Get it here at All Romance eBooks or Samhain Publishing.

10 thoughts on “Chasing Smoke by K. A. Mitchell.

Add yours

  1. I’ve been looking at this one and haven’t made the leap to purchase yet. I’m thinking, after reading your review, that I need to make that leap and do it. Thanks Sarah!

  2. Awww, Sarah, thanks! I always try to leave the boring bits out.

    Ghosts of Erections Past was a hit in critique and with my editor, too. I wish I was half as witty as my characters.

    Thanks for reading everyone!

    1. heh. You’ve no idea, after some of the stuff I’ve read lately it was
      such a pleasure to read. Honestly!

      As for the ghost I near laughed my wee ass off. Not so cool when it
      was so late at night and nearly woke partner. O-O Reading in bed is
      going to be banned soon!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

