I’m OK, you’re OK.

bumper_awesomenessHad a nice comment over at 3 AM blog that my reviews are not too shabby! Thanks! I am totally pleased. They’re so infrequent at the moment I am surprised anyone reads them at all! Work and real life are totally cutting into my interwebz time.

I was also interested in her comments about the validity of reviews and bias when books are free, and what makes a good review for her. She made some interesting points.

imokFor me, I have several places I go for good recs. All of them I find honest, interesting and don’t divulge too much of the plot – happy to read the synopsis thanks! When I read a review, I want to know if its good, the crappy bits (cause some crappy stuff I can cope with) and perhaps a rating, although that’s not essential. I cannot be bothered with long reviews due to my dreadfully short attention span. That and an overwhelming need to make my own mind up about plots, writing, character development etc. (hello egocentric).

0050s31hOne of the most frustrating things I find when looking for book recommendations is the *everything is 5 stars and fab* review. This tells me nothing and surely not all books can be that fantastic. I know authors slave their wee behinds off, but dude, come on! Not all books are going to appeal to everyone and some are utter ass. Srsly. I just want someone to be honest, clear and as succinct as possible.

For ebook reviews, you should check out these sites, cause they’re cool.

Isan at Library Thing. I mainly check out how many stars she’s given something, as she’s usually on the money and I’ve decided great minds think alike! She has also written some good reviews.

Bella at Two Lips Reviews is great. She has concise reviews, that I agree with more often than not.

Val Kovalin at Obsidian Bookshelf is always interesting and she has insightful comments and thoughts. She also has a Library Thing account.

Erastes writes beautifully about books. She knows lots and I only wish my own reviews were as well written and *cough* edited. heh. She’s cool.

Sometimes I just ask if I’ve been perusing Fictionwise. Twitter is great for this – I am lucky enough to have a whole heap of twitter buddies who are happy to share their thoughts on authors I’ve not read. 

0050x9ygFor comic reviews, you cannot go past these great sites.

Paul the Gay Comic Geek is so enthusiastic and is very knowledgeable about comic cannon, which is great for noobs like me. He also has a srsly cute boyfriend, and they’re both rather photogenic. You should totally check out the class comics photo competition. (beware there is nekkid bits) Nice! I was totally chicken shit about entering, am hoping Patrick runs another one next year and I’ll have more courage to share my love for Class. heh. Some of the entries are brilliant! (see, short attention span, now totally off topic).

For Manga, I check out Manga Updates as there are usually a few people who have voted and it will give you a broad idea if it’s rubbish or not.

Boys On Film has great reviews, but is on hiatus. Despite this, they do have a good list of stuff you should read. Especially if you’re a beginner to Manga like me. 🙂

Lastly, cause I’m a bit of a visual bint, I always check out Hot Fictional Guys. Lagosta always has gorgeous posts and often it is art work that attracts me first to a comic as opposed to story.

urokCheck out Jen’s blog and also Lisa’s, cause they’re cool too and doing some sharing. 🙂

13 thoughts on “I’m OK, you’re OK.

Add yours

  1. Yes, your reviews are good. Love them! Most m/m that I’ve read are because of your reviews.

    I like JenB’s as well when she does them, and most definitely BevQB’s.

  2. Thank you for the mention and honestly I’m pretty embarrassed my little nothing post on an obscure blog actually garnered reads let alone public cross-blog posts about it. It truly was meant as a compliment to the blogs that I love to read and mentioned it based on m/m book review content.

    I really enjoy reading your reviews and thanks for listing those you like! I’d still come to this blog even if you didn’t add another review because I enjoy it based on many other merits as well. I have discovered so many good artists from this site I’m thankful for that.

    So please know that it was said with the best of fangirl intentions and I can’t wait to check out some of your link recommendations!

    1. Dude! Thank you for the mention. I am super flattered, srsly. 😀 And, you write very cool reviews. Have been reading a few. Srsly, it was taken in the best possible way, you’re a sweetie!

  3. What a great post, Sarah! I didn’t even think of making a list of my favorite review sites. *facepalm*

    You’re so clever, and such a hard worker. I love your blog. Truly madly deeply. *hugs*

  4. Regarding rating all books 5 star reviews, I have been guilty of that in the past. The main reason, is that if I do not like a book, I simply do not review it. I guess it boils down to the “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything”.

    The way I look at it, is that the author poured their heart, soul and love into their work for months – possibly years -and to dismiss someone’s work with a bad review (many of which are quite mean-spirited) is cold and callous. While I may not like a book, others may love it.

    Now I have nothing against constructive reviews, but I have seen too may reviews like “Total Rubbish!” , “Waste of time”, “Piece of Crap”, “Drivel!”, etc. etc. I personally feel that when communicating anonymously via the Internet, it has become too easy to disregard the feelings of authors, artists, and musicians.

    Most authors read their reviews and a few poorly chosen, harsh words can really sting – and perhaps cause a more sensitive person to stop creating all together. Just my humble opinion….

    1. Hey Roger, thanks for your comment. There is a lot of stuff I don’t review either, although that might come down to time as opposed to lack of want! 🙂 And, I can understand where you’re coming from. I guess for me it is a question of, what do I want to spend my cash on and while I understand that it might be someone’s life long dream, I still think it is important to be honest. And, I agree – no need to be nasty. You’re reviewing a book, not the person. Thanks!!

  5. CRAP I LOST MY COMMENT.

    Wah.

    OK so, um…Sarah-noice job, par usual.

    Kassa~It was wonderful, don’t doubt it for a minute. Yay you!

    You know, I think reviewing only 5 star books (which I do on Good Reads because I’m in my ‘author guise’ SNORT) has its positive points. But for my blog? There are so many books that deserve mention. So many that I didn’t fully enjoy…and in the long run, they initiated great conversation and a thought provoking reading experience. The one that comes to mind is Shayla Kersten’s book Thirty Days. I did not like that book, but it was well worth the read and I actually recommended it because it provoked such a strong reaction.

    I think not assigning grades allows me a lot of freedom to really discuss the highs and lows of any book. It’s liberating.

    1. Author guise. Do you have a cape? Perhaps a jaunty cap? heh. I think that sometimes the most interesting books are those that spark conversation and disagreement!

  6. I meant it when I said once you’re my favorite reviewer. I don’t mean that because you give me favorable reviews. I mean it because I think you’re quirky and honest and show a real interest in the topic. And your comments have been the only ones I’ve read that have made me laugh, nod my head in agreement, and thoroughly enjoy.

    1. Quirky huh? You’re a sweetie. Not sure I am terribly eloquent at times and thought the other day that I need to come up with a better word that “cool”. Jesus wept. I sound like the recalcitrant teen. Next it it will monosyllabic grunting.

      When is your new book due?? Want now pls. Tell Nicole and that Hale chick to shake a leg too! They’re ummmm…. cool. heh.

      1. Ha! I’m working with them right now… we’re plugging away at Hell Cop 2. It’s been fun. My next book, Water, will be out in April. It’s yet another complete change in style for me… I like to experiment. This one is a supernatural chase scene story with lots of sex involved. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

