Drawn Together by Z. A. Maxfield

zam_drawntogether_coverlg_11Rory meets Yamane, the girl of his dreams, but it turns out she’s a man! Before he has a chance to figure out what that means, someone’s trying to kill him. Yamane needs a knight, and Rory is the only guy around. 

This book is seriously cute. But, is one of those reads that you need to pull on you big suspension of disbelief pants for. Not that the book pretends to be anything other than this, it was quick, sweet, with over the top drama and much campy fun. It’s kinda yaoi in a way and reminded me of something Jen said, … it didn’t attempt to do anything other than entertain you.

Some of the story felt like it stalled occasionally, and part way through I just wanted the boys to cut line, drop pants and swap man juice (in a very safe, tied condom way of course). It was admittedly a little frustrating as a reader. There was much moving around of characters that seemed a little unnecessary at times and did not really drive the story. Bit LOTR minus the talking about the scenery.  

The characters were sweet and I liked Yamane immensely, it was the hair that did it and I kept thinking of Ayano Yamane when I read his name (I just adore her). Yamane was so honest and at ease with himself and physically he was terribly appealing. Rory was a very solid character and a good foil for Yamane. A total hero in a plaid shirt. 

I was sucked in by the PL Nunn cover, completely. I love her work, especially her Clex and Silver stuff. She rocks.

All in all, a nice enough read. Check it out here at Loose Id and ZA Maxfield’s website.

8 thoughts on “Drawn Together by Z. A. Maxfield

Add yours

  1. I was quoted in a review! I’m famous! Woohoooo!!! 😀

    This book looks super cute and I adore the cover. This looks like it might be good for one of those lazy days when I just want something fun and easy. ZAM’s books are addicting and snackable like popcorn. 🙂

    (Love the tied condom ref, by the way)

  2. Loved your review, Sarah:) I read this book over the weekend, and I really liked it. I like you, loved Yamane…sigh…what a complex character he could be at times! You are right, it is simply a fun read. P.S. The cover is what sold me on the book! I love P.L. Nunn’s work, too! Her website is awesome!

  3. Thanks, yep. Just for fun and a kind of homage to Yaoi. Ayano Yamane is someone I read all the time, so when I found out it’s common surname I gave it to my Yamane as a first name. Thanks for the read and the rec!

    ZAM

  4. Hey Jen, it was super cute and the cover is divine. ;p To tie or not to tie, has provoked many an interesting discussion in my house.

    Hey Daisiemae, loving reading your reviews too. They’re great! PL Nunn has the coolest site, many hours on nosing through her work.

    ZA, Ayano Yamane has the most incredible, sexy art. And, it is always so nice to read your new work. 🙂

  5. I bang on agree with your entertaining and informative review! Thank you! (Especially the bit about Nunn’s art!)
    I love the way that Yamane was described. He seemed so ethereal at times and down-and-out gritty at other times.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

