Playing The Field: Faceoff by J. M. Snyder

faceoffChristian “Magic” Magdziuk is a minor league hockey player with dreams of someday heading to the NHL, and he’ll do whatever it takes to make that dream come true. So he plays with the Richmond Rebels for only one short season before he asks to be traded to the Bedford Blizzard, a farm team for the American Hockey League, where he might get a little more notice from scouts.

His attitude on the ice left him few friends among the Rebels…that is, until teammate Ronnie Niedermeyer took a liking to him. One thing led to another and the two men became lovers during the time Christian played with the team. But when he transferred to the Blizzard, he left the Rebels-and Ronnie-behind.

Now it’s the first game of a new season, and Christian’s facing off against his former teammates in the season opener. But after all this time, does something still smolder between Christian and Ronnie?

This was an incredibly quick read. The story was made up of a series of moments, brief, succinct and fast paced rather than having the padding of a longer novel around it. Perhaps it is my fault for not looking more closely at what the word count of the book was when I was buying, but, at 40 pages in pdf I cannot help but feel a little disappointed that it was not longer. Especially as what I did read was enjoyable. I know I have whinged about this before, but when I pay that much for a book I guess I expected a few more pages. However, due to how the story was written maybe it would not have worked in a longer format.

The romance was sweet and hot and I enjoyed the characters. Christian with his drive and ambition to do better for himself and Ronnie with his quiet stoicism. The premise of the book is what initially made me pick it up and the lovely cover. I have a thing for sports romances and have all of Susan Elizabeth Phillips firmly on the shelf!

So, much locker room shots, men in towels and hockey sticks. Nice!

Get it here from Amber Allure.

4 thoughts on “Playing The Field: Faceoff by J. M. Snyder

Add yours

  1. This looks really cute. JM’s a great writer. I’ve read several of her books and have enjoyed them all. I’ll try this the next time I’m looking for something short and sexy. Great review!

  2. Jen, it was a sweet read. This is the 1st book I have read from JM Snyder. If you have any recommendations of others to try, then let me know. I liked the style of writing most definitely!

  3. I love Between Brothers and Conflict of Interest. Both are very mild when it comes to the sex, but JM writes great relationships. Between Brothers is about one man that is in love with his brother, even though he knows it’s wrong. We’ve discussed it on the Yahoo group. Just put “Between Brothers” in the search bar.

    Her Shorts anthology is good too, and I like all her Working Man short stories from Aspen Mountain (also on AllRomanceEBooks.com).

    I have Cowboy, but I haven’t read it yet.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

