Sleight of Hand by Katrina Strauss.

sleight-of-hand1Edwin Matthews just wants to get some sleep. Traveling by steam train with his family, the melancholic nineteen year old is plagued by restless nights and recurring dreams of a fiery disaster. When a mysterious magician comes aboard, the troubled insomniac’s trip takes an interesting turn. From Samhain Publishing.

I am not usually a huge fan of short stories or novellas. I read so quickly it is nice if my books last longer than 5 minutes! However, Sleight of Hand does not suffer from being a mere 60 something pages. It is packed with much frock coated goodness that was just so pretty and sexy and hot and yeah, I kinda liked it.

This has to be one of my favorites by Katrina Strauss, not that I haven’t enjoyed her previous work but this book in particular felt well structured and concise. There were no words wasted and it made for a compelling read. The sex was totally hot and I am quite sure part of it is down to Edwin himself, exploring his newly awakened sexuality as he comes to the realization that he is attracted to men, not women. Marco is no slouch either and has a bit of man in charge hotness going on. 

The book also has the best warning, which made me laugh…
Warning: This book contains violence, dubious consent, masturbation, anal penetration, light D/s, frock coats, cravats, questionable Victorian parlor tricks, and hot sex between beautiful men on a fast-moving train. 

Kinda like trains too!

Get this Victorian paranormal goodness from here at Samhain.
Katrina Strauss Website.

10 thoughts on “Sleight of Hand by Katrina Strauss.

Add yours

  1. I really need to bump this one up on my to read pile. Nothing but good, good, good reviews.

    I’m a slow reader so I actually like the short ones, makes me feel like I’m getting through a lot of books. 😀

  2. Thank you for such a lovely review! I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed Sleight of Hand so much, and appreciate you sharing your thoughts. I’m drafting a sequel in between Blue Ruin 4 drafts, so stay tuned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

