Hell Cop by Astrid Amara, Nicole Kimberling and Ginn Hale.

Welcome to Parmas City, where demons and sorcerers live among ordinary people and a few tough Hell Cops protect them all. Jay, Argent, and Ben are three of them, and they’ve just met the men of their hottest dreams.
From Loose Id.

You have got to appreciate a book that has all the elements of a great urban fantasy, such as drunken centaurs, cops who burn, half demon anthropologists, dragons, magic, mages, cabal families and a life saving bunny costume. And, look at that cover! A sure fire way to my heart, although I am sure the authors would have rather I picked it up for less prurient reasons, hehe. Nicely done Miss Martinez

Urban fantasy is a genre I throughly enjoy and I am a huge fan of authors like Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelley Armstrong, Kim Harrison, Charlaine Harris and the gorgeous Dante Valentine series by Lilith Saintcrow. I think it is kinda cool that I am starting to see different kinds of settings for my m/m reading and big ups for UF. 

Next of Kin by Astrid Amara – was well written and I thought the premise was cool. Jay is a Hell Cop who can never touch another living person due to his skin being consumed by magical fire. Brian has moved to the city to find his father after living a rather sheltered life in the countryside. Someone is out to hurt Brian and Jay finds himself helping the younger man and I liked how they seem to fit despite their differences. 

Red Sands by Nicole Kimberling – was an enjoyable read but it took me a little longer to warm up to Michael. I think it was just the kind of character he was. He was not in your face but quiet somehow. Mind you the poor guy is under investigation for a murder he did not commit! Don’t think I’d be feeling my usual snippy self if it were me either! He sets out to prove his innocence, and find out what really happened with the assistance of cop Argent. 

Touching Sparks by Ginn Hale – was cool. I have been wanting to read something by her for ages after hearing so much about Wicked Gentlemen. I liked James, he was sweet and gutsy and the whole carrying a torch story line is a bit of a winner with me. Ben has dark and broody going on and both men are trying to deny their attraction to avoid hurt. Ben with his somewhat murky past, relationship wise, and James because he wants Ben but does not know if he is desired in return. 

The world building in all three books was tight and I could happily read more set in gritty Parmas city. It was also a good chance to read 3 authors who I’ve only seen in paperback until recently. I love books and I love them even more when they’re on my shelves but the dollar is at about half of the US at the moment, so I am pretty selective about what I get in. Ebooks are a much cheaper and immediate way of finding out if I like a writer, and with such a saturation of books in the urban fantasy genre I have bought more than one lemon. I think a lot of publishers cash in this particular fan base and you can end up buying well packaged drivel that is a pale imitation of something that’s already been done.

My one negative about Hell Cop was the sex. While there were the odd well written moments in all three stories, I would not classify it as incendiary. Maybe you need to take that one with a grain of salt though as I am pretty pervy! I am a sucker for well written sexual tension, power dynamic and can I hear a woot for variety! I like my men to be men when they’re engaging in the smex and for it to be kinda sweaty, hot and real. This is what will make me re read a book more often than not or try more of an authors work. On the whole I did not feel the book always hit the mark in this respect and it often felt incidental rather than a natural progression of the story. 

Apart from this one aspect it was an enjoyable read and I look forward to seeing more work from these talented authors. You can purchase the book here at Loose Id.

Astrid Amaras’s website.
Nicole Kimberling’s website.
Ginn Hale’s website.

6 thoughts on “Hell Cop by Astrid Amara, Nicole Kimberling and Ginn Hale.

Add yours

  1. LB – That’s what I asked when I saw him! Certainly looks like him.

    Sarah, I thought about buying this the other day…I’m torn…I think I’ll still get it, but I’ll probably wait until I get into paranormals again. I’m soooo burned out on supernatural stuff at the moment.

    Great review!

  2. Okay, you had me hooked at “drunken centaurs”, but then my reading came to a screeching halt when my tongue, er, eyes landed on the furry pic. LAWDY! I’d do some of that!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

