Crimson Spell: Volumes 1 and 2 by Ayano Yamane.

Prince Valdrigrs’s kingdom of Alsvieth is in danger. To protect his family and people he takes up the legendary sword that once belonged to his father, to combat the invading force. Unfortunately the sword is cursed and turns the user into a demon.
After the battle is won, Vald flees the castle to find help to remove the curse before he hurts someone.

This has to be one of my favourite mangas. I cannot get enough of Ayano Yamane’s beautiful work and I have read these two books several times. While I think Vald is utterly delicious, I adored Havi. He is quite unscrupulous and when he discovers Vald has no memory of his time as a demon he quickly takes advantage. It seems Havi’s touch is one of the only things that calms the unruly demon down and Havi is quick to capitalize on this. Bad, bad dirty man… but so good!

It is a bit of a double edged sword however as Havi beings to develop feelings for Vald, all the while Vald knows nothing of their nightly sexorin! But, I did wonder just a bit. Vald is supposedly unaware of what goes on with Havi while he is in his demon form but he does get pretty worked up when Havi is in danger. Maybe he is not totally oblivious!

The artwork is gorgeous and I really appreciated the fact that I could see everything. Often the best bits are blurred in yaoi manga and I do miss having that complete visual experience! The cock, is good! As is the man goo! Her boys are just beautiful. She manages to convey Havi’s slightly stern, cold manner perfectly all the while allowing you to feel Vald’s warmer, more noble self and his inclination towards brash heroics. The detail in the clothing is quite ornate and would totally give Prince a run for his money. There is much smex and I enjoyed the power dynamics between Vald and Havi. Yeah, and the whole cuffed and tattooed demon thing, hot!

It is only up to volume two at the moment so I am hoping that there is more to come.
A great fantasy story with loads of cool adventures, swords, pillaging plant life, nasty magicians, magic, sex, bad guys and a bunny. A definite must read.

You can get it at Amazon – Volume 1 here and volume 2 here. To check out a bit more of the art there is some on youtube here. Is there anything that is not on youtube? 😉

5 thoughts on “Crimson Spell: Volumes 1 and 2 by Ayano Yamane.

Add yours

  1. Great review, and what you said! This series is beautiful on so many levels, from Yamane-sensei’s detailed art style, to her detailed love scenes! All that, and romance, too! CS also stands out from most Japanese yaoi with its medieval fantasy setting. Truly a masterpiece!

  2. I want this. Grrrrrr.

    Maybe I should order a used copy. I’ve tried to get it from Amazon before, but they always say it takes 2-3 weeks to ship and I’m impatient.

  3. Katrina, I loved that it was fantasy too. having spent most of my teen years firmly stuck into David Eddings and others! Such an enjoyable read.

    Jen, I think mine took about 5 weeks? Cannot remember but it was not too bad. But worth the wait 😉

  4. I love this. This art is just so beautiful, and the story sounds absolutely original. I know I say this all the time, but you really ferret out such unique and cool work! Ismael Alvarez below is also amazing. I was really admiring that this morning, too.

  5. I think it is because I am such a book geek and am a fiction geek. I loved the fantasy element in this book, kinda different and cool. I saw your comment about Ismael, I think it ended up in the Astrid Amara review? He is a sweetie!

    I do enjoy manga and my collection is slowly building! Some of it I am not so keen on as the the characters look way to young which squicks me just a bit but it is cool reading and makes me giggle a bit.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

