Snow Angel by Sharon Maria Bidwell.

Synopsis from Loose Id.

Dean likes April. April’s brother Jay loves Dean. When Dean finds out how Jay feels it raises difficult questions of his sexuality. If he doesn’t get his act together quick, he’s gonna lose two friends and one true love. (Keep thinking of this Blur song Girls And Boys when I read this excerpt! Here. My only excuse is it’s been a long week…).

This has to be one of my favourite recent reads.

Jay was instantly likeable and is a guy who has had a thing for the boy next door for more years than he can remember. He was gutsy, comfortable with his sexuality, intelligent, and kinda geeky and sweet. You cannot help but fall for his character and yeah, maybe drool over his bishōnen hair and looks just a bit.

Dean I had to learn to like. He was an asshat a great deal of the time. Big, insensitive, mechanic, beer drinking, emotionally challenged prick and yeah, maybe a pig… and I just adored him. Getting in touch with my inner masochist, much?? I don’t usually have a yen for D/s but there was something about Dean that really floated my boat.

What I found moving was Dean’s internal conflict. Coming to terms with being in love with his best friend and the desire that he has to have seriously nasty, hot sex… in the bed, on the floor, on a towel by the door, in the tub, in the car, up against the mini-bar… you get the idea. It all provided provided some seriously delicious angst.

I kinda liked how Sharon Maria Bidwell illustrated that Dean had layers (ogres have layers… and onions too). He is a man who thinks deeply about things and his struggle to be honest with himself and admit to his feelings for Jay is pretty touching.

The sex is hot and made my toes curl, srsly! There is an edge in Dean and he could be incredibly controlling to the point where the book pushed a few of my own boundaries. I think this is why it is even hotter when he looses it himself and it makes you wonder, who is really the one submitting, Dean or Jay? The language is pretty earthy and frank but this just made more appealing and a little wild. Merow!

In Angel Heart you see more of the boys. There is more of Dean coming to terms with his life a month or ten down the track. He is frustrated at times and finds the constrictions of society maddening. He just wants to be able to put his arm around his boy and maybe kiss him in public without fear of censure. A simple thing. Not that he’d give a rats ass if anyone complained, if that makes sense, but he is pretty much a man used feeling self assured. Which is why it makes such good reading and despite being a mere 70 pages I thought this was delightful epilogue.

You can get the goodness here at Loose ID and Sharon Maria Bidwell has a website here. She also has a fantasy series called The Swithin Chronicles with some srsly hot more than one-somes action.

On the internets you must check out Jen and her blog for chap in the leather cap (nice) and competition wins, am quite jealous!

Lisabea has a treasure of a book cover to share on Nose in a Book. Merow! She also has a link to the gorgeous book I am now 1/2 way through… Crossing Borders by Z.A. Maxfield.

Finally check out the belly buttons here at Beautiful. My eye is just drawn straight to it every time I look at it!! Screen lickin good. 

PS It is rather late so>>>

 

11 thoughts on “Snow Angel by Sharon Maria Bidwell.

Add yours

  1. Oh, and I read Crossing Borders last night. I gave the first half 5 stars and the second half 4 stars. Read the whole thing in one evening. Haven’t done that in a while, so that’s definitely saying smoething! 🙂 OMG, it’s hot.

  2. Ooooh, Snow Angel looks real good to me. I could use some angst. I’m fresh out.

    And… how much do I love that pic under Snow Angel? Must. take. cold. shower. now! 😮

    Can I steal it sometime?

  3. LesleyW, I ❤ that song. I totally pinched it from a comedy song about fucking Matt Damon by Sarah Silverman I think? Stick it into youtube, pretty funny.
    I really liked the book, it is a good read and totally appealed to me. You must let me know what you think! email me at sharrow at gmail dot com. I’d be interested to know if anyone else likes it!

    Hey Jen! I think my fav bit is the sex in the lounge. Not nice tidy sex but messy emotionally, merow. I am so poked, 1st week back and am shagged… and not in any good way. meh. I am still only up to maybe just after thanks giving dinner and have been to tired to read till late. I am so liking it though!

    Hi Leah. I so like that picture too! And I did like the angst in the book, reminded me of a kinda uke/seme but kinda not.

  4. LOL. Out of all the fab reviews I’ve had for this book i have to thank you wholeheartedly. That one put a huge smile on my face and made me laugh as I was reading. I don’t think what makes a person tick — sexuality or otherwise — is necessary a simple thing. I’m over the moon that you got the whole ‘who is actually the stronger person?’ point to the books. Someone so full of himself isn’t necessarily all that he seems. You’ve made me so pleased that I wrote this. Believe it or not, it was my first try at writing a contemporary work and I didn’t know if it was something I wanted to do or could pull off. Yeah, I fell in love with Dean and Jay too. Thanks so much. Shaz x

  5. Hey there Shaz! I loved this book, srsly. I have now read it several times and Dean and Jay just get me every time. I loved the complexity of the characters and that nothing was black and white.

    You give such good book and I do hope you write some more contemporary novels. One thing I forgot to say was that the fact that it was set in England was cool. Something a little different. Thank you for stopping to say hi, you’re a sweetie.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

