My Fair Captain by J. L. Langley.

Synopsis.
Talk about a compromising situation!

A storm of political intrigue, murderous mayhem and sexual hungers is brewing on planet Regelence.

Swarthy Intergalactic Navy Captain Nathaniel Hawkins ran from a past he had no intention of ever reliving. But when his Admiral asks him to use his peerage, as an earl and the heir to a dukedom, to investigate a missing weapons stash, he’s forced to do just that. As if being undercover on a Regency planet where the young men are supposed to remain pure until marriage isn’t bad enough, Nate finds himself attracted to the king’s unmarried son.

All Prince Aiden Townsend has ever wanted was to be an artist. He has no interest in a marriage of political fortune or becoming a societal paragon. Until he lands in the arms of the mysterious Earl of Deverell. One look at Nate’s handsome face has Aiden reconsidering his future. Not only does Nate make a virile subject for Aiden’s art, but the great war hero awakens feelings in Aiden he has never felt, feelings he can’t ignore.

After a momentous dance at a season ball, Aiden and Nate find themselves exchanging important information and working closely together. They have to fight their growing attraction long enough to find out who stole the weapons and keep themselves from a compromising situation and certain scandal.

After seeing a few reviews for this recently I was compelled to do a re read, cause this book is just that good. I initially picked this up after seeing it sitting pretty on The Naughty Bits, I mean who could resist that cover? Shallow, much! I think the 1st time I read it I did not stop till it was done. Then, I counted the days till payday to placate the beleaguered credit card so I could get another Langley fix!

Aiden is so engrossed in his art and has no aspirations toward marriage. He is so innocent for a man of his age but not nauseatingly so, he certainly has backbone and is utterly captivated with Nate. The society is based on that of the Regency period and works well. It reminded me of a steampunk or cyberpunk kind of novel, errr minus the steam. Young men are chasete until marriage and this was one aspect of the world building that I was not sure would work, would they be kinda girly? I wondered if it would take away from their masculinity and how real blokes are just blokes. Weird thought, I know. But this was not the case. it was handled well and the fact that they respected this custom was seemless. I found Aiden to be an utterly charming character with surprising inner strength who was a perfect foil for Nate who is kinda dark and broody and hard and oh man, he is so drooly!

Nate is a bit of a strong, silent type who has risen fast in the ranks due to hard work and is a man worthy of respect. He has not had an easy life getting to where he is and this holds him back from becoming more intimate emotionally with Aiden. He is also aware that he is a Captain and has a duty to do his job and not totally debauch the local Royalty! Excellent self control…most of the time. He has a son, who he has adopted, after finding him abandoned in some space port. Awwww, guy with kid. (kid is a total hardass and cute to boot, hoping he gets book???)  Nate is just smokin and there is just a wee bit of top peaking out through the chest hair. Merow!

 I guess the best part for me of the book was the world building and the closeness of Nate and Aiden. The scenes with them alone in the lift, and when they’re kind figuring out the bad guys, are just beautiful, intimate and loving. Aidens obsession with Nate’s beard is so endearing and the smexin is incredibly hot. I would advise a close proximity to a freezer or fan when reading.

For an excerpt of the next novel go here.

Get the goodness here.

12 thoughts on “My Fair Captain by J. L. Langley.

Add yours

  1. Hold up off topic: So a friend of mine just lent me Touching Evil and I just finished the Heaven Scent series.
    Back on topic TOTALLY in love with this book and DYING for the second on *g*
    Great review I picked it b/c of LB and then the cover HAWT!

  2. I keep picking Touching Evil up (well opening it up on my laptop) and putting it down…again. Not sure it’s a good sign for me or that I have attention def dis.

  3. I haven’t gotten around to ordering TOUCHING EVIL. Let me know how you like that. I’ve heard good and bad things about it, so I’m on the fence about buying it.

  4. I Spy – Rilly? Sounds interesting…just tried having another nosey at loose id. but the site is down.

    When I actually manage to finish TE I will try and post…but I actually need to finish! What you reading Jenb?

    Angels? I love eeet! It’s that 80’s hair…I covets it and long to have it again…that’s not wrong is it??? heh.

  5. I just read two *fabulous* books – JUST FRIENDS by Anne Thomas (short, $3 download from Amber Allure…reviewed it yesterday), and then today I read BAD CASE OF LOVING YOU by Lainey Cairo (Torquere Press, or buy from allromanceebooks.com). Both 5 stars. Yummmmm.

    I had a Dorothy Hammill haircut throughout most of the early 80’s (born in ’81), then a really bad layered perm throughout the late 80’s. Hideous things mothers do their children. *shudder*

  6. Yes, Sarai…from what Jen says..but Payton and Si are FIRST. And hot damn I can’t wait.

    I Spy is a different book that came out today. And Loose Id was down all day.

  7. Sorry, clear as mud…yes, he is with crown prince…want his story…I am an asshat.

    I am home now. Loose id is up again and am off to buy!

    Both the books sound very cool Jen, I just finished Crossing the line. It was good but there was one thing that have me a little squicked and snorting with laughter. Other than that, an ok read. Not sure I liked it as much as Jumping the Fence. The Laney Cairo sounds cool…will add it to the list.

  8. PS Jen. have signed up the GLBT local film fest thing. They’ve recently had East Side Story, which I’ve missed but have fingers crossed the might get Shelter in and I’ll be able to see it on the big screen. Looks like they have loads of movies you’ve suggested. Cannot wait!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

