Rain on the Roof

Out of the blue.

It has been so long since I’ve blogged I wasn’t sure I’d remember how. I used to enjoy it so much, but stuff happened and it seemed to suck anything remotely like creativeness and a willingness to share right out of me. Nothing to do with the reading community, more life is a bit sucky stuff.

I also think I stopped blogging so much because writing reviews was too much like hard work and it felt like a lot of pressure for little gain. I think I may be coming out the other end of my creative slump and meh moment. (It’s only taken 2 years!) I’ve been reading Kassa’s blog too and enjoying her return to regular reviewing and blogging. I think too, that perhaps time away is not such a bad thing.

I’ve been reading loads, as always, but more of a balance between urban fantasy  contemporary and m/m. I’m finding I have less patience for rubbish writing. It frustrates me no end when characters are not fully fleshed out, the world building is cursory at best and the author just doesn’t do the job of making me believe in their world. I think maybe I am becoming a little cranky and if it doesn’t grab me in the first chapter I’ll put it down. I also yell at small children to get off my lawn. heh.

So, here’s my first rec for the year… and it’s going to be brief.

I thoroughly enjoyed this. Solid world building and good pacing. I did have a few issues about half way through but not bad enough to spoil my enjoyment. Definitely one to check out if you’re into sic fi.

Buy it here from Loose Id.

16174363

3 comments on “Out of the blue.

  1. Jenre
    April 25, 2013

    Welcome back :).

    I’ve liked other books by this author so I’ll certainly check it out. Thanks for the rec :).

  2. Christine
    April 25, 2013

    Hey! Nice to see a new post. It would be great if you were back to blogging, but by all means do it only if it’s fun and rewarding. The moment it becomes like a chore or work it’s time to re-evaluate what you’re doing.

  3. Pingback: Review: Dark Space | three am

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2013 by in Lisa Henry, Review - ebook and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 419 other followers

